Saturday, April 14, 2007

football

Today, I do solemly swear, that I will never bag out football as a sport, or footballer players, ever again.

It's not because I've had a sudden change of heart, and have learned to embrace the game though.

It's because someone, up there, in the sky is punishing me. Punishing me for my 23 years of football hating, and probably for all the times I've written-off footballers as sub-human breed of boofhead.

I remember rolling my eyes as a teenager, as my school friends discussed last weekend's NRL game, and how cute Andrew John's bottom was as he ran up and down Marathon Stadium. I think these long lunchtimes of complete and utter boredom were the start of my dislike for football. It's grown from there though.

Over the years I've actively expressed my disgust for the sport in front of actual football fans, and I think I may have actually offended some of them.

That's not to say I like upsetting people or being obnoxious. I'm certainly not proud of having offended anyone with my opinions. But I really, honestly, don't like football. It's violent, it promotes pack-mentality behaviours and I don't like the boys club culture of it all.

Actually, I was recently accused of descriminating against footballers, and making generalisations, by a close friend. For this reason, I will add to the above by stating that I have met some quite nice footballers. Not all footballers are bad. Just most of them.

Ok, ok, settle down. I'm joking. Footballers are not bad. And I am making generalisations. Don't be too upset by my comments - because I'm being taught a lesson. And like I said, I'm never bagging out football again.

My anti-football sentiments are all coming back to bite me on the butt.

Since working in Queensland, I've been assigned the role of sports photographer for the local rugby league club. This effectively means I have to spend every second Saturday trotting around the edges of the local football grounds, snapping beefy young men, for no extra pay.

I'm having a whinge at the moment because I've just got all wet taking photos at an under 19's game in the rain. I have to go back to the field later tonight to take photos of the A-grade team.

Like I said. Someone up there, the almighty if you like, really likes football.

And I'm getting a boot up the pants for dissing it.

xox tegz

Friday, April 13, 2007

honest blogging...

I've been reading lots of blogs lately and I've been noticing a few things...

There are people who blog about ideas. And there are people who blog about their emotions. There are people who blog about their day, and some like to mix it up with anecdotes etc. Some people blog about all of the above.

But I think all blogs can be divided in two categories. Honest and dishonest. I know that sounds very black and white. But it's true.

Unfortunately I think my blogging efforts so far fall into the dishonest category. That's not to say that I've been actively dishonest. But I haven't been writing about everything that's been going on, what I've been thinking, feeling and so forth.

What I'm getting at is that I've been sensoring myself. I haven't beens saying thing's I'd because I'm worried about god knows what.

So let's throw caution to the wind...

Ingham is really really boring man. I'm trying super hard to make the best of being here - and I am. The job really is good and I'm learning lots. It was a good decision to come.

But sometimes, not all the time, it sucks.

On a Friday night when I have nothing to do (like tonight) it sucks. It also sucks when I need a hug, or a want to see a band, or I want to buy a good book, or I want to see a decent movie.

But most of all it sucks because of all the people am missing. I miss Luke. Enormously. I miss the snuggles, fun times and being close to my best friend.

I also miss my family. And my friends. I miss coffee with my mum on Sunday afternoon in the kitchen. I miss beers and adventures with friends. It stinks.

I also feel like I'm missing out on things sometimes. Could I have aimed higher? Had a bigger, more daring adventure than this? Why didn't I go for a job in a bigger city? In a different country? bah.

Anyway. So tonight at least I've been honest. I'm lonely and sad. Boohoo.

I'm going to go watch the rest of Lost In Translation now and make myself even sadder.

cya.

Tegz